Tag Archives: Logan McDermott

All-WBL Football selections announced

The WBL Champion Wapak Redskins who will play this Friday night against Trotwood-Madison in the Division 3 Regional Finals landed 10 players on the 1st team offense and defense in the league teams announced today including WBL Offensive Player of the Year Cameron Lauck, Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year Corey Crawford (also won Defensive Lineman of the Year), and Kicking Specialist Tristan Meyer.

Joining Lauck and Crawford on the 1st team offense were teammates John Bourne (Center), Cody Klosterman (Guard), Kais Chiles (Tight End), and Colin Smith (Flex). Defensively the Redskins 1st teamers were Lauck (DB), Crawford (DE), Cort Merricle (Defensive Line), Jared Cockerell & Landon Hall (Linebackers).

Joining the Redskins on the 1st team were Bath Guard Tyler Shobe, Van Wert Tackle Nolan Smith, Elida QB Logan Alexander, St. Marys RB Eric Spicer, and Ottawa Glandorf WR Logan McDermott.

Defensively the 1st team was rounded out by Bath’s Kyle Lhamon, Kenton’s Aarin Tillman, and OG’s Connor Blossom on the Defensive line. The Bath Wildcat duo of Tyler Shobe and Bo Gross both made the team as a Defensive End and Linebacker respectively. In the secondary the WBL’s 1st was represented by Van Wert Senior Ryan Stoller and Bath’s Chase Clark. The Flex position was nabbed by another Bath defender in Dylan Burkholder.

With the exception of OG’s Bryce Utrup at WR the entire 2nd team offense was represented by a cat or dog mascot as 3 Bath Wildcats (Tackle Easton Rudasil, TE Dylan Burkholder and RB Bo Gross) joined 4 Elida Bulldogs (Center Tristan Edwards, Guard Tyler Kanitz, RB Cole Harmon and WR Brian Upshaw), 1 Defiance Bulldog (TE Abram Smith) and a pair of Celina Bulldogs (QB Caleb Hoyng/Guard Mitch Mabry).

The 2nd team defense consisted of Celina Freshman Seth Huston, Elida Sophomore Dan Tullis and Shawnee Junior Mitchell Shirk. Senior Defensive Ends Mitch Mabry (Celina), and Gavin Cross (Van Wert) joined Linebackers Zach Marks (Celina), Jack Cavanaugh (OG), and Evan Williams (Van Wert). Rounding out the 2nd team were Defensive Backs Jacob Stolly (Celina), Jay Garcia (OG), and Randy Slife of St. Marys who finished with a team high 5 interceptions.

Honorable Mention selections went out to 40 players, 4 from each school:

Bath: Tre Tenny, Kaden Sullivan, Jon Lieurance, Troy Korkate
Celina: CJ Kimmel, Ryan Harter, Austin Boeckman, Dussel Vondenhuevel
Defiance: Alex Gonzalez, Cole Allman, Jorden Scott, Kohle Clellan
Elida: Dylan Holcomb, Noah Mosley, Scott McDonnel, Noah Meeker
Kenton: Tyler Heintz, Austin Buroker, Trent Hites, Mason Crabtree
Ottawa-Glandorf: Zac Unterbrink, Connor Niese, Noah Recker, Jay Kaufman
Shawnee: Jalen Bagley, Austin Allison, Noah Hanjora, Spencer Jordan
St. Marys: Julius Fisher, Dustin Howell, Jonathan Peterson, Aaron Alexander
Van Wert: Justice Tussing, Gavin Gardner, Josh Braun, Jacoby Kelly
Wapakoneta: Cole Hogan, Aaron Huffman, Dylan Kuehl, Drew Voll


Titans score late, clinch playoff berth

OTTAWA, OH – In the era of what is fast becoming the first to 100 points wins, the OG Titans and St. Marys Roughriders found themselves scoreless at the half and embroiled in a defensive struggle deep into the games waning moments.

With the game deadlocked at 7-7 and 1:44 remaining in the contest, OG signalcaller Zac Unterbrink tossed a 35 yard touchdown to Logan McDermott that would turn out to be the games final tally. On the go ahead drive the Titans found themselves faced with three long third downs and connected on passes for 12, 22, and 15 yards to pick up a first down and push St. Marys back on their heels.

Following the score the Roughriders were limited to a pair of timeouts and 1:40 remaining but were unable to get into the endzone despite marching to the Titan three yard line. Junior QB Dustin Howell gave his team their best opportunity to tie the ballgame, but a pass intended for Logan Maze was unable to find its mark on third down.

Unterbrink, the WBL’s leading passer coming into Week 10 finished the contest 20/36 passing for 289 yards and a touchdown to go along with two costly interceptions by St. Marys Randy Slife on his own half of the field in the win.

St. Marys, who opened the season 5-0 got their lone touchdown from Junior back Julius Fisher which capped off a 14 play 72 yard scoring drive that pulled the game back to even at 7-7. Fisher’s touchdown run was a response to a 10 yard run from OG tailback Connor Niese just moments earlier in the period.

In earning their 7th win of the season (against just 3 losses), the Titans improved clinched themselves a playoff berth and will travel to Lewistown to take on Indian Lake according to the Division 4 Region 12 rankings posted by Joe Eitel (http://www.joeeitel.com/hsfoot/region.jsp?region=12&year=2015).

The Roughriders 2015 season comes to an end at 6-4 (5-4 WBL). For St. Marys it is their first winning season since 2008 (the last time the Riders were able to participate in Week 11) and improves on their 5-5 record in 2014. Despite losing a lot of talent on both sides of the ball the Riders will draw from their experienced Junior class to lead them next season including QB Dustin Howell.